Across the Universe

Based on all the places I’ve managed to visit the past 2 weeks it feels like I have traveled across the universe. I’ve had some of the best experiences in my entire life during this time, but I must confess I am SO happy to be back in Copenhagen for awhile. I only have 15 days left until I leave! I try not to think about that though because otherwise I get quite sad.

Anyways, you may be wondering where I have been lately, so here ya go:

 

First stop: Krakow, Poland

I traveled to Poland by myself and spent 4 days there. (As a side note, if you have never traveled by yourself, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. I grew so much in those four days and feel much more self-sufficient and independent after doing so.)ย  This is probably one of my favorite cities in the world because of it’s Eastern European feel and the wonderful, fun people. I was able to visit Auschwitz and it was something I will never forget.

 

St. Mary's church

St. Mary’s church

Random statue in the middle of the city

Random statue in the middle of the city

Pope John Paul II was from Poland

Pope John Paul II was from Poland

St. Mary's Church- One of the prettiest churches I've ever seen

St. Mary’s Church- One of the prettiest churches I’ve ever seen

Market Square

Market Square

 

Auschwitz

Auschwitz

IMG_4564

 

The buildings where the prisoners were kept.

The buildings where the prisoners were kept.

We also went to Birkenau concentration camp which was about 10 minutes away

We also went to Birkenau concentration camp which was about 10 minutes away

One of the train cars by which they transported prisoners into the camps.

One of the train cars by which they transported prisoners into the camps.

IMG_4569

Holes in concrete which served as toilets. Apparently clearing out the toilet waste was the most wanted job because this was the only way the prisoners had access to water.

 

After learning about the Holocaust for so many years, it was an unreal experience to actually be there. I also was able to visit the house in which Anne Frank hid in for almost 3 years when I was in Amsterdam this past weekend, so experiencing those two things in such a short period of time had a very strong impact on me. (I will talk more about Amsterdam in my next post).

On a lighter note…..

IMG_4597


I made friends with some guys from New Zealand and I ended up taking out of the guy’s stitches with a Swiss Army knife… Med school here I come ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Next stop: Italy (Orvieto, Assisi, Rome, Venice)

I spent two days in Rome, since I had already been there this semester. The first day I took a day trip by myself to Orvieto and Assisi. I can safely say these were two of the most beautiful cities I have ever been to.

 

Orvieto Cathedral

Orvieto Cathedral

IMG_4607

Assisi

Assisi

Assisi

Assisi

 

Doing this day trip by myself was also a really fun experience and I realized how much I enjoy being by myself since being abroad. My Catholic friends and family will be interested to know that I saw the relics of St. Francis of Assisi and St. Catherine of Assisi. We also explored where St. Francis lived and died.

I spent my time in Rome seeing some of the major monuments again and relaxing. From Rome, my friend Chloe and I took a train to Venice. I will never forget how beautiful this city was. A city built on water, what a concept! Some highlights: taking water taxis, visiting the islands of Lido and Murano (where Murano glass is made), and exploring the city by foot.

IMG_4781 IMG_4808

We spent half of one of the days laying out on the beach of Lido. I felt like I was in Cancun again!

We spent half of one of the days laying out on the beach of Lido. I felt like I was in Cancun again!

IMG_4841

Murano glass statues sprinkled the island of Murano

Last stop: Prague, Czech Republic

Prague was a really cool city and reminded me a lot of Krakow. I love the Eastern European feel to those cities.

Famous medieval astronomical clock

Famous medieval astronomical clock

Beer tour! Pilsner was invented in the Czech Rebpulic

Beer tour! Pilsner was invented in the Czech Rebpulic

Overlook from the castle

Overlook from the castle

St. Vitus Cathedral

St. Vitus Cathedral

John Lennon Wall

John Lennon Wall

Charles Bridge

Charles Bridge

IMG_4982

I was really touched to see people showing support for Boston halfway across the world on the Lennon Wall.

All in all, I had a WONDERFUL travel break. I learned a lot about myself and other countries that I never dreamed I would be able to visit. However, I’ve realized that meeting new people is probably my favorite part of this whole experience. The type of people you meet traveling are unlike most people you meet; they are charismatic, adventurous, passionate, and courageous.

This past weekend I was in Amsterdam, Netherlands on the DIS sponsored trip about Human Trafficking and Prostitution. It was a very eye-opening experience! I will blog more about that when I have a little more time because there is so much we learned about.

That’s all for now. Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

Caitlin

2 thoughts on “Across the Universe

  1. What incredible experiences you have had. I have visited some of those same places and they are unforgetable. You have grown so much and these experences will shape your future, Wish i was coming to travel with you too, but cant wait to give you a hug and hear more when you get home.

Leave a comment