Home is where the heart is

As you probably noticed from my cheesy title, I’ve gotten to the point where Copenhagen feels like home to me. I have great groups of friends, an AMAZING host family, fun classes, and a beautiful country that I get to wake up and experience every day. I feel like this is exactly where I’m supposed to be right now.

After I finish these three research papers and go to class all day tomorrow, I leave for a ten day adventure around Europe. I’m going to Poland, Italy, and Czech Republic with some of my best friends that I’ve made here. Some highlights of the trip will be visiting Auschwitz, exploring the beautiful cities of Assisi and Orvieto (in Italy), enjoying the charming city of Venice, and being introduced to the different atmosphere of Prague.

I will try to at least post pictures throughout the trip 🙂

In the meanwhile, here is what I’ve been up to in Copenhagen:

20130410-161312.jpg

Going on runs by the Roskilde fjord will never get old.

20130410-162327.jpg
20130410-161429.jpg20130410-161550.jpg

A new tradition my host family and I have: going on bike rides after dinner along the Danish countryside and fjord.

20130410-161826.jpg

Visit to the Botanical Gardens!

20130410-161904.jpg

Now that it’s nice out we can hang out by the canal. Isn’t Copenhagen beautiful?!

20130410-162117.jpg

Trying out the sidewalk trampolines 🙂

Thanks for reading! Have a wonderful week.

Caitlin

2 thoughts on “Home is where the heart is

  1. Great shots Caitlin, i am so glad you are enjoying every minute of it. Auschwitz will be moving. If you are near Rothenberg Germany, thats where I lived.

  2. Yes, Copenhagen really is beautiful and so are you. I can’t believe how much you are learning and seeing and experiencing. It’s amazing! Enjoy your big Europe trip. Having read that book “Trapped in Hitler’s Hell” two years ago, I know you’ll be so moved at the visit to Auschwitz. I am already looking ahead to this summer. I hope you’ll still be interested in being a part of a group. Thoughts?! (Reply separately through FB.) Have fun! Gretchen
    P.S. Your photos are beautiful. Loved the trampoline one too. It captures your energetic spirit!

Leave a comment