Madrid, ESPANA!

So sorry that I have not blogged in awhile. I just got back from being in Spain for a week and I’ve had huge papers due in every one of my classes! But, since it is currently blizzarding outside, I have some downtime to update you all on my adventures. 🙂

Before I start, I just want to explain the travel breaks that are incorporated in the DIS calendar. In total, we get two weeks where we have absolutely no classes, and another two weeks where we only have our core course (aka Positive Psychology for me). The first week where I only had Positive Psych was when we went to museums and had a lecture on a Monday and Tuesday, and then Thursday-Saturday we were in Sweden. The second week I will be with my class, we will go to London from a Saturday to a Friday. That is in a couple weeks and I couldn’t be more excited!

This past week, half of the DIS students who did not have their long study tours with their classes had a free week to travel, and that other half will have a free week when I’m in London. In the middle of April everyone gets a week off to travel.

Okay, so back to the good stuff. Last Saturday, March 8th, I left for Madrid, Spain. I met up with one of my friends, Wunmi, who is studying in Sevilla this semester. We had a BLAST!! Madrid was a really busy city, filled with beautiful people, architecture, culture, and delicious food.

IMG_3624

View from the airplane

IMG_3632

Plaza Mayor is one of the biggest plazas in Madrid where there were lots of restaurants and shops.

IMG_3642

Wunmi (far right) is my friend from home that is studying in Sevilla. Sarah is from DIS and met us in Madrid.We

On Saturday night we went to a discoteca and met lots of people from all over the world.

On Saturday night we went to a discoteca and met lots of people from all over the world.

On Sunday afternoon we went on a free walking two all around the city. Here are ruins from the Moorish city walls, which enclosed part of the city back in the 9th century.

For dinner on Sunday we ate at the oldest restaurant in the world! How cool is that?! We were super surprised that they had one open table. Any one else that came in after us was turned away if they didn't have a reservation. We all ordered tapas and sangria and explored the cool building. Apparently Ernest Hemingway was a regular here back in the day.

For dinner on Sunday we ate at the oldest restaurant in the world! How cool is that?! We were super surprised that they had one open table. Any one else that came in after us was turned away if they didn’t have a reservation. We all ordered tapas and sangria and explored the cool building. Apparently Ernest Hemingway was a regular here back in the day.

We went to Spain's national museum for 20th century art. We saw some paintings by Picasso!

We went to Spain’s national museum for 20th century art. We saw some paintings by Picasso!

We went to a convent where there were a cloister of nuns that sold baked good they homemade. The nuns are not allowed to interact with the public, so you order through this wooden door and put your money on a turn table. After you spin it so they receive your money, they spin it again and there are the cookies! They are AMAZING and it was a really cool experience.

We went to a convent where there were a cloister of nuns that sold  homemade baked goods. The nuns are not allowed to interact with the public, so you order through this wooden door and put your money on a turn table. After you spin it so they receive your money, they spin it again and there are the cookies! They were AMAZING and it was a really cool experience.

I still have Sevilla to write about, but I need to leave to go to DIS for a field study for my Positive Psychology class. We are watching a movie called “Happy”, which is about happiness throughout different cultures.

 

I will write about Sevilla as soon as I can!Thanks for reading 🙂

 

Caitlin

 

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “Madrid, ESPANA!

Leave a comment