Time flies when you’re having fun

So sorry I haven’t updated my blog in awhile!  I’ve had papers due in each of my classes this past week, so I have been trying to get back into the “school” mode..it’s easy to forget I didn’t only come here to explore Europe!

Last weekend I went to Vienna, Austria with my friends Chloe and Shane (both also go to DIS and coincidentally my home university). We had a blast! My favorite parts were seeing the Sigmund Freud museum, the opera house, and all the beautiful old buildings in the city. It is such a quaint, historic place.

IMG_3361

IMG_3360

IMG_3367

IMG_3373

IMG_3404

Chloe and I

IMG_3417

 

IMG_3433 IMG_3435  IMG_3455

 

IMG_3480

 

IMG_3503

Lost in Vienna….

 

IMG_3512

IMG_3451

 

Besides schoolwork, my week has also consisted of exploring Christiania, a super cool part of Copenhagen that is considered a “free town”. People are not allowed to take pictures, so read more about it by clicking on the link if you’re interested! I also went to the Statens Museum for Kunst, the national gallery of Denmark. It is by far one of the best art museums I have ever been to. The surreal and modern art is my favorite part.

I also have been volunteering at the Student House, exploring Roskilde (where my host family lives), meeting other DIS students and Danes through a program called the “buddy network” (which I would highly recommend for any prospective DIS students!) I went out and experienced the Roskilde night life last night with one of the neighbors of my host parents. He took my roommate and I out and we were able to meet his Danish friends and see an authentic Danish bar. It was really fun to talk about American politics, religion, pop culture, etc. with the Danes.

I have classes this week, and then next week I have my first travel break. Half of the DIS program has a week off to independently travel, and the other half has their long study tour in a different country. I will be going to London for my long study tour in March. Since I have next week off, I am leaving for Madrid, Spain this Saturday and meeting my friend, Wunmi, who is studying abroad in Sevilla, Spain. We are spending the weekend there and then I’m going to stay with her and her host mom in Sevilla for the week. I’m so excited to see her and see Spain!

There isn’t too much more news to update you all on. I’m still loving every second of my time here and so grateful for the opportunity to come to Denmark and travel. I could not have asked for a better experience so far. In fact, if I had studied abroad in the fall I’m pretty sure I would have extended my stay for the whole year! If there are any prospective students with questions-please don’t hesitate to ask! I’ll do my best to help 🙂

Have a wonderful week!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Time flies when you’re having fun

  1. Wow, Caitlin, wow, I read your blog today on my office pc, and i was amazed at your pictures, and, of course, your great writing art. Love, Dad

Leave a comment